Back to CVE records
High 8.2Published Mar 16, 2026

CVE-2026-28498Authlib: Fail-Open Cryptographic Verification in OIDC Hash Binding

Updated under an hour ago ()

Does this affect you?

It affects authlib and 5 other products. Add what you run to find out whether that includes you.

No exploitation reported and no EPSS estimate yet.

Authlib is a Python library which builds OAuth and OpenID Connect servers. Prior to version 1.6.9, a library-level vulnerability was identified in the Authlib Python library concerning the validation of OpenID Connect (OIDC) ID Tokens. Specifically, the internal hash verification logic (_verify_hash) responsible for validating the at_hash (Access Token Hash) and c_hash (Authorization Code Hash) claims exhibits a fail-open behavior when encountering an unsupported or unknown cryptographic algorithm. This flaw allows an attacker to bypass mandatory integrity protections by supplying a forged ID Token with a deliberately unrecognized alg header parameter. The library intercepts the unsupported state and silently returns True (validation passed), inherently violating fundamental cryptographic design principles and direct OIDC specifications. This issue has been patched in version 1.6.9.

CVSS
8.2 HIGH (v4.0, CNA)CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:H/AT:P/PR:N/UI:N/VC:N/VI:H/VA:N/SC:N/SI:N/SA:N
Weakness (CWE)
CWE-354, CWE-573, CWE-325
Known exploited
Not in CISA's KEV catalog
EPSS (exploitation in the next 30 days)
Not loaded for this CVE
Assigned by
GitHub_M
NVD analysis
Modified
Record last updated
Sep 10, 2026
First seen by InfoSec Signals
Oct 9, 2026

Affected products

Affected products
authlib authlib
authlib:authlib (from the name)
before 1.6.9
CNA record
Red Hat Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2.6
redhat:ansible_automation_platform
from 1774417022 not affected
CISA ADP
from 1775169155 not affected
CISA ADP
Red Hat Lightspeed Core
redhat:lightspeed_core
Versions not stated
CISA ADP
Versions not stated
CISA ADP
6
CISA ADP
authlib authlib
authlib:authlib
before 1.6.9
NVD

References

References

The CVE record is authoritative. Products marked “from the name” were identified from the CNA's free-text names, not a CPE, and are matched less certainly. This product uses the NVD API but is not endorsed or certified by the NVD.

Your cookie choices
We use essential cookies to run this site, and, only with your consent, an advertising cookie from Google to measure whether our ads lead to sign-ups and subscriptions. See our for details.